winter

the weather is cooler and the days are shorter.  winter is looming on the horizon.

i know.  i know.  i think winter is looming even when it’s june.  but it truly looms now.

i also have a cold.

i watched oldboy with some friends two nights ago.  the final scene caught me unexpectedly.  it was the movie and then it was not.  it was the movie and then it was me, standing in my boots and winter coat, hood on and hands in pockets, standing on a street in brooklyn with the snow falling silent around me, waiting, waiting for s.  moments like that catch the breath in my throat and take it away, leaving me gasping for air.  just when i think it’s receding into the past.  and then it’s not.

i just am not cut out for this shit.

Leave a Reply

