socks

my very first socks!!

my very first socks!!

after a very long time, i’ve finally finally finished my first pair of socks!!  when i first decided to make socks, i thought it was going to be a relatively easy project.  my line of thought was: i’ve only made scarves and a beanie.  it’s unlikely that i’ll be able to knit anything as complicated as a sweater or gloves.  so – socks!  all through fall i had this ambitious plan of making socks for the winter – but little did i realize how ambitious that plan was!  i’ve learned a lot making socks though – i finally know what double pointed needles are, can knit “in the round,” switch colors, pick up stitches, make a gusset, and perform the kitchener stitch.  not bad for my first project after a knitting hiatus of 5 years.

for christmas, my sister bought me some more yarn.  shortly thereafter, i went to knitting/sewing heaven purl in soho, nyc, and bought more yarn… however, almost all the yarn i now have is sock yarn!  looks like i’ll be making nothing but socks for quite some time…

as a note: i’ve updated the post “brand new day” with pictures of my short stay in japan.

yarn from my sister

yarn from my sister

lorna's laces self-striping yarn, made exclusively for purl soho

lorna's laces self-striping yarn, made exclusively for purl soho

purl soho, a.k.a. yarn mecca

purl soho, a.k.a. yarn mecca

five doors down... purl fabric store

five doors down... purl fabric store

2 thoughts on “socks

  1. I really like their fabric store. More than the yarn store even 🙂
    nice job on the socks and I love new sock yarns. Should be fun to knit up!

Leave a Reply

